A Sunday at the mall

I can’t believe I’m about to admit this, but I came to the realization yesterday that I hate malls. I took my Mom to Dillard’s  in search of a new coat. We  have radically different shopping styles so decided to split up and meet up later so I first checked out the Cosmetics area at Dillard’s.  I wasn’t there 2 minutes before some nice SA glommed onto me and wanted to show me stuff I wasn’t interested in. Bless her heart, I know they have quotas and all but she was barking up the wrong tree. She noticed that I was really interested in nail polish (The new Butter Londons for the holidays are so pretty!) so she ran me all over the place looking at different brands. There is one Estee Lauder polish called Chaos that caught my eye but for $20 I’ll pass. It looks fairly dupeable too, maybe Zoya FeiFei is close? Trying to escape, I ended up telling the SA the story of Clarins 230 and how expensive it became at one time after being discontinued in hopes of rendering her speechless. It worked!

Leaving Dillard’s I headed to Icing to see if they had anything interesting. Their nail polishes are always Buy one Get one 50% off so I picked up a couple of glitters, a red and a gold, to franken with. I resisted the urge to strangle an indecisive woman in front of me at the register. You’d think choosing a 2nd hair accessory to get the B1G1 was some Sophie’s Choice moment in her life. She had to consult not only the salesperson but both of her daughters before making up her mind. The salesperson looked at me at one point and said, “Sorry it’s taking so long” to which I rolled my eyes and smirked.

Last stop for me was Ulta. We aren’t fancy enough to have a Sephora yet so Ulta will have to do. We were supposed to get a Sephora back in 2009 but the economy going down the tubes killed that plan. Our Ulta is pretty new, open less than 6 months, but still a nightmare of disorganization. I know they must think I’m either from corporate sent to spy on them or just a nutter with OCD but I took 5 minutes straightening up the nail polish displays as discreetly as possible. The only polishes I was tempted by were some Deborah Lippmanns but again, no polish is worth $18. I did make a really impulsive purchase of a Two Faced eye shadow palette ($48) that I had seen online but wasn’t really looking for. Sadly, the palette is going back as it isn’t very well pigmented and the shimmer fallout is unbearable. It’s so pretty though as you can see from the picture below. 

By the time I met up with Mom, I was frazzled and cranky. The screaming children and badly-dressed people just got to me and all I wanted to do was get the hell out of there. I know how my 9-year old feels now when I drag him shopping.

Leave a Reply

