It’s a Christmas miracle!

As much as I love to shop for myself, I am not so swift at doing so for others. It must be because I’m a little self-centered to not have yet figured out the joy of giving. I don’t usually make a big deal out of Christmas either, much to the chagrin of my friends and family. When you are single it’s easier get a pass from all the decorating and cooking and crap that goes along with the holidays but as a parent, you feel as if everyone has DSS on speed dial and is just waiting to make an anonymous complaint about you if you aren’t Martha effin Stewart. Guilt, the greatest motivational tool ever.

It wasn’t guilt though that created this holiday miracle I am about to tell you about. It was Adam Levine. I don’t listen to Maroon 5 by choice but if you only have a car radio you are pretty much doomed to hear them eventually. And as a fan of Saturday Night Live, I saw them perform a few weeks ago. Wow, that boy has got it going on in the looks department! He may be a walking STD factory but dang if he isn’t easy on the eyes. So when I was at Target yesterday and came across his visage on the box for a digital drum set from First Act something in my brain screamed, “The Young One needs that!”  Well played, marketing department of First Act, well played indeed.

Since the box is pretty big, I decided I would go ahead and wrap it since it’s too big to hide. The kiddo was out somewhere with his Dad when I got home so it was no issue getting it inside. I used an entire roll of paper on that sucker! Now the pressure is on to get the tree up. Blerg. But I am proud of myself for not procrastinating on getting the holiday spirit started.  I may even make some ornaments for gifts this year, who knows? I bought clear glass ornaments and already have tons of glitter so I plan on making a huge mess very soon.

Leave a Reply

